CHICHAWATNI: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Choudhry Tufail Jutt won NA-162 election by 76,580 votes whereas PTI’s candidate stood second in the election, according to unofficial results.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Rai Murtaza is at the second spot, receiving 63,211 votes.

Pakistan People’s Party candidate Shahzad Saeed Cheema received 15,873 votes, taking the third spot.

Polling began at 8 AM and ended at 5 PM, without any break. The counting of votes began right after the polling process came to an end.

After the unofficial results came in PML-N supporters started celebrating on their victory.

Tough contest was already predicted between Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Rai Mohammad Murtaza Iqbal, PML-N’s Chaudhry Mohammad Tufail Jat and PPP’s Shahzad Saeed Cheema.

Four independent candidates also contested for the seat in the by-elections.

The NA-162 seat, won by PML-N, was left vacant after PTI’s Rai Hassan Nawaz was declared unqualified. He was disqualified by an election tribunal when it was discovered that he is a bank loan defaulter.

Rai Hassan Nawaz had taken Rs.220 million from the bank but never repaid the money.